Skip navigation

Robertson School of Government Faculty

Michele Bachmann, J.D., LL.M.
Dean and Professor, Robertson School of Government757.352.4302


It has been the highest honor to serve the American people and to uphold conservative principles on a national scale. I am thrilled to now direct my focus to preparing the next generation of government leaders at Regent University.

RSG’s mission is to train leaders who desire to strengthen the ethical and moral foundation of Judeo-Christian principles in government, and who are called to preserve individual freedom, representative democracy, and constitutional government.

Our graduates leave Regent University rooted in a biblical worldview, trained and shaped by a caring, Christian faculty in a rigorous academic environment.

From city hall to Capitol Hill and from non-profit humanitarian organizations to the governor’s mansion, RSG alumni go on to live Regent’s motto of “Christian leadership to change the world.” I invite you to join us at the Robertson School of Government.

The Robertson School of Government has crafted an academic team whose mission is to train the next generation of principled Christian leaders. Your educational foundation will benefit from professors who are published scholars, or who were leaders in Washington, D.C., former Cabinet members, retired military officers, and practitioners from local and state government. Our faculty hold advanced degrees from institutions such as Aberystwyth, Brandeis, Duke, Oxford University, Michigan, and the University of Virginia. They have a passion for teaching and a love for students. Throughout our program your confidence will rise as you acquire the tools and knowledge needed to fulfill your life’s mission.

John D. Ashcroft, J.D.
Distinguished Professor Law & Government Former Attorney General of the United States
Michele Bachmann, J.D., LL.M.
Dean and Professor, Robertson School of Government757.352.4302
Philip C. Bom, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Edwin C. Daley, DPA
Charles W. Dunn, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Sam S. Gaston, MPA
Joshua A. Hastey, Ph.D.
Assistant ProfessorDirector, M.A. Government and M.A. National Security Studies757.352.4624
Joseph N. Kickasola, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Andrew J. “A. J.” Nolte, Ph.D.
Assistant ProfessorDirector, M.A. International Development and M.A. Campaigns & Political Leadership757.352.4939


Larry C. Baucom (USN, ret.), RADM
Kevin Cooney, Ph.D.
Jeff Gardner, Ph.D.
Judith Gooch, Ph.D.
Henry "Hank" Jones, J.D.
Michael Lewis, M.A.
Brian Martin, Ph.D.
Bill McCarthy (USN, ret.), RADM
John Munday, Ph.D.

Instructional Team Member