Dr. Alemayehu Mekonnen is an associate professor of missions, having previously taught for 18 years in Africa and the U.S. From 1997-2005, he worked with the Evangelical Free Church of America International Mission (now called Reach Global) and taught at Nairobi Evangelical Graduate School of Theology (now called African International University, AIU). As associate professor of missiology and chair of the Missions Department, he led the development of a missions emphasis within the M.A., M.Div., and M.Th. degrees, as well as an M.A. program in Islamic Studies.  Dr. Mekonenn has also taught at Denver Seminary for about eight years. For the last three decades, he has served the Lord as an evangelist, pastor, teacher and missionary.

Dr. Mekonnen has published three theological books in the Amharic language, the national language of Ethiopia. He has also coauthored one book in English and has published Culture Change in Ethiopia: An Evangelical Perspective. Wipf & Stock, 2013, ISBN: 978-1625645166.

He holds a Ph.D. in Intercultural Studies, an M.A. in Missions and an M.A. in Theology from Fuller Theological Seminary; an M.A. in Cross-Cultural Communication from Assemblies of God Graduate School of Theology; and a B.Th. from East Africa School of Theology.

Academic Research
Leadership & Missions


Culture Change in Ethiopia: An Evangelical Perspective

The West and China in Africa: Civilization without Justice

Meet Our Faculty

James Flynn, D.Min.

Associate Dean of Instruction & Operations

Director of D.Min. Program

Associate Professor

757.352.4527 jamefly@regent.edu
Daniel Gilbert, Ph.D.

Director of Master’s Programs

Assistant Professor

757.352.4238 danigil@regent.edu
Mark A. Jumper, Ph.D.

Director of Chaplaincy & Military Affairs

Associate Professor

757.352.4903 mjumper@regent.edu
Joseph Umidi, D.Min.

Executive Vice President for Student Life




Eugene Austin, D.Min.
Lewis Brogdon, Ph.D.
Ewen Butler, Ph.D.
Robert Carpenter, D.Min.
Kristina Chalfin, D.Min.
Elmer Chen, Ph.D.
Victor Cuartas, D.Min.
Joseph DeLong, D.Min.
Martin Dignard, Ph.D.
John Dooley, D.Min., Ph.D.
Sharon Fernandez, D.Min.
Leroy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Dan Goff, D.Min.
Susan Hares, Ph.D., (A.B.D.)
Donald Hartley, Ph.D.
Gary Heinke, D.Min.
Robert Hill, Ed.D., Ph.D.
Ray Houk, D.Min.
Jeff Jibben, D.Min.
Mwambazambi Kalemba, Ph.D.
Benjamin Laird, Ph.D.
William Langford, D.Min.
Robert Mack, Ph.D.
John McCloud, D.Min.
Patricia Mercier, D.Min.
Lisa Millen, Ph.D.
Adam Nigh, Ph.D.
Marty O’Rourke, D.Min.
Jim Pennington, D.Min.
Jeremy Perigo, D.W.S.
Markus Pfeiffer, D.Min.
John Plake, Ph.D.
Eric Scalise, Ph.D.
Dwight Sheets, Ph.D.
Edward Smither, Ph.D.
Donnie Staggs, Ph.D.
Roger Starner, Ph.D.
Carl Sweatman, Ph.D.
Michelle Thomas, D.Min.
Dan Thompson, Ph.D.
Daniel Tomberlin, D.Min.
Daniel Tomberlin, Ph.D.
William Victor, Ph.D.
Brandon Walker, Ph.D.
James Wall, D.Min.
Steven Ware, Ph.D.
Janet Warren, M.D., Ph.D.
Robert Webster, Ph.D.
Sara Wells, Ph.D.
Russell West