Regent University will be closed Friday, January 21, 2022, due to forecasted winter weather.
Skip navigation

Virginia Penalties and Sanctions

All students, faculty and staff should be aware that under Virginia law, a conviction for the use, possession, or distribution of illicit or unlawful drugs may result in the following criminal sanctions.

The following chart displays the state laws for alcohol violations:

OFFENSEFINEINCARCERATIONSUPPLEMENTAL SANCTIONS
Underage Possession and/or Transportation$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsLoss of Driver’s License for up to 1 year   Possible 50 Hours of Community Service in Lieu of Fine
Using a False Driver’s License to Purchase Alcohol$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsLoss of Driver’s License for up to 1 year    
Buying Alcohol for a Minor$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsLoss of Driver’s License for up to 1 Year
Selling Alcohol to Minors or Intoxicated Person.$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsLoss of Driver’s License for up to 1 Year
Drunk in PublicUp to $250N/AN/A
Disorderly Conduct$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsN/A
Abusive LanguageUp to $250N/AN/A
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 1st Offense$250 to $2,500Up to 12 monthsLoss of Driver’s License for 1 Year
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 2nd Offense Within 10 Years$500 to $2,50030 days to 1 Year.Loss of Driver’s License for 3 Years
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 3rd Offense Within 10 Years$1,000 to $2,500Up to 5 YearsPermanent Loss of Driver’s License   Vehicle Seizure
Unlicensed Alcohol Sale$500 to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsN/A
Drinking in PublicUp to $250N/AN/A

The following chart displays state laws for drug violations:

OFFENSEFINEINCARCERATIONSUPPLEMENTAL SANCTIONS
Possession of Marijuana (up to 1 oz.)NAN/AN/A
Possession of Marijuana (more than 1oz – 1lb)$25NANA
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute 1oz. up to 5 lbs.$2,50012 Months to 10 YearsN/A
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute 5 lbs. – 100kg$1,0005 to 30 YearsN/A
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute within 1000 ft. of a school or school bus stop$100,0001 to 5 years
Sale of Marijuana to a Minor (at Least 3 years Younger)$100,0002 to 50 YearsN/A
Manufacture of Marijuana$10,0005-30 yearsN/A
Transporting more than 5 lbs of Marijuana into the state$1,000,0005-40 yearsN/A
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia (not illegal unless intent to sell)Up to $1,000Up to 6 MonthsN/A
Selling Drug Paraphernalia to Adult$2,5001 YearN/A
Selling Drug Paraphernalia to Minor (at Least 3 Years Younger)$2,5001 YearN/A
Possession of Schedule I DrugUp to $2,500Up to 10 YearsN/A
Possession of Schedule II DrugUp to $2,500Up to 2 YearsN/A
Possession of Schedule III DrugUp to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsN/A
Possession of Schedule IV DrugUp to $1,000Up to 6 MonthsN/A
Possession of Schedule V DrugUp to $500N/AN/A
Possession of Schedule VI DrugUp to $250N/AN/A
Distribution of Schedule I or II Drug (1st Offense)Up to $500,0005 to 40 YearsN/A
Distribution of Schedule I or II Drug (2nd Offense)Up to $500,0005 years to LifeN/A
Distribution of Schedule III DrugUp to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsOr 1 to 10 Years in Prison in Lieu of Fine
Distribution of Schedule IV DrugUp to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsOr 1 to 5 Years in Prison in Lieu of Fine
Distribution of Schedule V and VI DrugUp to $2,500Up to 12 MonthsN/A