Skip navigation
Robertson Hall, which houses the Regent University School of Law.

Leroy R. Hassell, Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition

The 21st Annual Leroy R. Hassell Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition will be held Thursday, October 14 through Saturday, October 16, 2021. Due to the uncertain nature of the COVID-19 situation, this year’s competition will be held in an entirely virtual format. The problem this year will involve constitutional criminal procedure issues.

This annual competition is named in honor of the late former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia. Chief Justice Hassell dedicated his life to the fight for justice for the Commonwealth’s citizens. During his distinguished career, the former Chief Justice championed constitutional rights. He was a leader in equality becoming the first African American Chief Justice of the Virginia Supreme Court.

Chief Justice Hassell was a close friend of Regent University School of Law. He served as a member of the Regent University School of Law Board of Visitors and as our Distinguished Jurist-in-Residence. A model of professionalism and excellence, the Chief Justice regularly exhorted our students to work hard, to do justice, and have faith to achieve their dreams. He was a true inspiration to students and faculty alike.

The final panel for this year’s competition includes:

  • Judge David Sentelle, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
  • Judge Kenneth Starr, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit (retired)
  • Judge Albert Diaz, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 4th Circuit
  • Judge Kyle Duncan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit
  • Judge William Webb, Magistrate, U.S. District Court for the E.D.N.C. (retired)
  • Chief Justice Jeff Bivins, Supreme Court of Tennessee
  • Justice Cleo Powell, Supreme Court of Virginia
  • Judge April Wood, Court of Appeals of North Carolina
  • Justice Elizabeth Lang-Miers, Court of Appeals of Texas (retired)

Competition Rules & Problem

Important Dates

Copy of Competition Problem & Rules:
Friday, July 9

Rule or Problem Interpretation Request Deadline:
Friday, August 27

Registration Deadline:
Monday, August 23

Payment Deadline:
Monday, August 30

Brief Submission Deadline:
Monday, September 13

Registration Check-In:
Wednesday, October 13

Competition Begins:
Thursday, October 14

Competiton Ends:
Saturday, October 16

Regent University's law school in Virginia Beach offers programs in law such as J.D., LL.M. and M.A. in Law.

The 20th annual Leroy R. Hassell Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition was held on October 8th through 10th. Thirty-four teams competed, with St. Mary’s taking home first place, and Wake Forest coming in a close second. Both teams, alongside semifinalists W&M and U-C Hastings, displayed a true mastery of both oral advocacy and legal knowledge, earning high praises from a distinguished final panel of judges, including The Honorable Catharina Hayes, Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; The Honorable Jeffrey S. Bivins, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Tennessee; The Honorable Mark Martin, Chief Justice (ret.), Supreme Court of North Carolina; The Honorable Tom Parker, Chief Justice, Alabama Supreme Court; and The Honorable William A. Webb, United States Magistrate Judge (ret.), Eastern District of North Carolina. Best Brief Awards were presented to St. Mary’s and Best Oralist to W&M.

The 20th Annual Leroy R. Hassell, Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition was a tremendous success. Next year’s competition promises to be great as well. It will be held in October 2021 in Virtual Format, an exciting new medium for the legal field.

Registration is now closed.

The following is a list of important dates for the Competition, please check this schedule as it may be updated periodically, and the times listed are subject to change. All times are Eastern Standard.

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

Thursday, October 14, 2021
Preliminary Round 1: 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. ET

Friday, October 15, 2021
“Bye” Round Make-up: 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET
Preliminary Round 2: 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. ET
Awards: 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. ET
Elimination Round of 16: 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. ET

Saturday, October 16, 2021
Quarter Finals: 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET
Semi Finals: 1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. ET
Finals: 3:00 p.m.- 4:30 p.m. ET

Hassell Team Brief Submission

  • Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, Max. file size: 8 MB.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.