Mervyn J. Wighting, Ph.D.


Career Switcher Program Chair

More About Mervyn


Dr. Mervyn J. Wighting teaches in Regent University's M.Ed. degree programs. He chairs the university’s Career Switcher program for alternative teacher licensure and has been the Project Director for a $1.25 million federal Transition to Teaching grant. He currently teaches online sections of Foundations in Education for Transition Professionals, Exploring the Curriculum, Classroom Management for Transitioning Teachers and Professional Projects.

Prior to joining the Regent faculty, Dr. Wighting taught face-to-face and asynchronous television courses at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia.

Wighting's Ph.D. dissertation is in the field of classroom community and how it may be affected by technology, and he continues to explore the dynamics of learning communities. The current focus of his research is to investigate different aspects of school and classroom community in order to assist teachers to develop their instruction in ways that will connect with a diversity of learners. For more details of this research, click here.

Wighting is also pursuing a line of research that measures students’ perceived learning to investigate whether there may be relationships with their actual learning. This research includes studying the effectiveness of teachers in the classroom and their measurement of children’s learning.

Meet Our Faculty

Hope Jordan, Ph.D.


Special Education Program Chair

Reading Specialist Program Chair

757.352.4438 hopejor@regent.edu
Glenn Koonce, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

Educational Leadership Program Chair

757.352.4316 glenkoo@regent.edu
Jeff Pittman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

IDP & Student Affairs Program Chair

757.352.4205 jeffpit@regent.edu
W. George Selig, Ed.D.

Distinguished Chair of Educational Leadership

757.352.4137 georsel@regent.edu


Mercy Alarid, Ed.D.
Eric Armbruster, Ph.D.
Iris Killian Barrett, Ed.D.
Samuel Botta, Ed.D.
Denita Bottoms, Ed.S.
Ardene Bunch, Ed.D.
Dana Cavallaro, D.Min.
Colleen Derr, Ed.D.
Sandra Fortner, Ed.D.
Hope George, Ed.D.
David Geurin, Ed.D.
Arlene Gibson, Ed.D.
Katherine Goldman, Ed.D.
Nancy J. Hameloth, Ed.D.
LaDonna Hankins, Ph.D.
Christine Harris, Ph.D.
Shevine Holeman, Ph.D.
Kathleen Hopkins, Ed.D.
Theodore Jenney, Ph.D.
Matthew Kellogg, Ph.D.
Jonathan Kohns, Ed.D.
Danielle Kreassig, Ed.D.
Alice Ledford, Ed.D.
Julie Ann Ligon, Ph.D.
Anne Mannarino, Ed.D.
Rene Lanette Martinez, Ph.D.
Darwin Evander Mills, Ed.D.
Ryan Murnane, Ph.D.
Michael R. Myers, Ed.D.
Roni S. Myers-Daub, Ed.D.
Heather Newton, Ed.D.
Rhiannon Jordan Perry, J.D.
Robin Puryear, Ph.D.
Ann Shufflebarger, Ed.D.
Cynthia Sparks, Ed.D.
Patricia Stewart, Ph.D.
Catherine Walsh, Ph.D.
Donna Wolfe, Ph.D.

Instructional Team Member

Homer Allen, M.Ed.
Moyra-Lee Babb, M.A.
Jacqueline Bruso, M.A.
Rachel Copeland, M.Ed.
Susan Crosland, M.Ed.
Myra Jessie Flint, M.Ed.
Sarah McKown, M.A.
Donna Revellon, M.A.
Ashley Rombs, M.Ed.
Carolyn Thompson, M.A.