Ph.D. Mark Mostert


Mark Mostert, Ph.D.


Special Education Concentration Chair

More About Mark


Dr. Mark Mostert, from Johannesburg, South Africa, completed his undergraduate degree (with distinction) from the Johannesburg College of Education, majoring in special education and biblical studies. After post baccalaureate work in cerebral palsied education at the University of South Africa, he was awarded the master's degree from the University of South Alabama, where he was designated the outstanding graduate in special education. His Ph.D. in special education was awarded by the University of Virginia in 1992 for the dissertation, Metaphor in Special Educators' Language of Practice, subsequently published by the University of Illinois.

In 1996, after a national search, Mostert was the inaugural winner of the Millman Promising Scholar Award from Cornell University. In 1997, Mostert was appointed Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer at Minnesota State University-Moorhead, and in 1998 he was a visiting professor of special education at the University of Cologne, Germany.

Mostert previously served as coordinator of programs in Learning Disabilities at Minnesota State University-Moorhead, where he was full professor; and as Associate Professor of Special Education at Old Dominion University. He has taught at both the elementary and secondary level, in both public and private schools, and on two continents.

Mostert's current research interests include research syntheses related to effective educational interventions, issues related to face validity in meta-analysis, and the utility of the history of special education to inform current educational and social practices.

Dr. Mostert is the Special Education concentration chair for the following degree programs:
Ed.D. – Special Education
Ed.S. – Special Education
Ph.D. in Education – Special Education


Honors and Awards:

2008 Visiting Professor of Special Education, University of Johannesburg, Johannesburg, Republic of South Africa.

1998 Visiting Professor of Special Education, University of Cologne, Cologne, Republic of Germany.

1997 Phi Kappa Phi.

1997 Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Beth and Roland Dille Foundation for Excellence, Moorhead State University.

1996 Jason Millman Promising Scholar Award, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY.

1991 John B. and Florence S. May Graduate Fellowship, Curry School of Education Foundation, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia.

1989 Departmental Doctoral Fellowship in Special Education and Teacher Education, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia.

Meet Our Faculty

Jason Baker, Ph.D.


Senior Technology Strategist

Paul Carr, Ed.D.


Educational Psychology Program Director and Concentration Chair

Don Finn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Curriculum & Instruction Program Chair

Adult Education Concentration Chair

Elizabeth Hunter, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor

Reading Specialist Concentration Chair

Exceptional Educational Executive Leadership Concentration Chair

Glenn Koonce, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

Educational Leadership Program & K-12 School Leadership Concentration Chair

CAEP Liaison

Jeff Pittman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

IDP & Student Affairs Program Chair

Higher Education Leadership Management Concentration Chair

W. George Selig, Ed.D.

Distinguished Chair of Educational Leadership

Mervyn J. Wighting, Ph.D.


Career Switcher Program Chair



Mercy Alarid, Ed.D.
Alan Arroyo, Ed.D., Professor Emeritus
Ardene Bunch, Ed.D.
Dana Cavallaro, D.Min.
M. Gail Derrick, Ed.D.
Sandra Fortner, Ed.D.
David Geurin, Ed.D.
Arlene Gibson, Ed.D.
Katherine Goldman, Ed.D.
Nancy J. Hameloth, Ed.D.
LaDonna Hankins, Ph.D.
Christine Harris, Ph.D.
Shevine Holeman, Ph.D.
Matthew Kellogg, Ph.D.
Jonathan Kohns, Ed.D.
Alice Ledford, Ed.D.
Julie Ann Ligon, Ph.D.
Anne Mannarino, Ed.D.
Rene Lanette Martinez, Ph.D.
Ryan Murnane, Ph.D.
Roni S. Myers-Daub, Ed.D.
Heather Newton, Ed.D.
Rhiannon Jordan Perry, J.D.
Robin Puryear, Ph.D.

Instructional Team Member

Homer Allen, M.Ed.
Moyra-Lee Babb, M.A.
Rachel Copeland, M.Ed.
Susan Crosland, M.Ed.
Myra Jessie Flint, M.Ed.
Sarah McKown, M.A.
Donna Revellon, M.A.
Ashley Rombs, M.Ed.
Carolyn Thompson, M.A.