Sheila Hill, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor


Dr. Sheila G. Hill is an experienced educator with an extensive school-based background. Her previous experience includes teacher, guidance counselor, supervisor of Gifted and Talented Education, elementary school principal, and adjunct professor for several colleges and universities. She is currently an assistant professor in the School of Education at Regent.

She is former chairman of the Chesapeake School Board, which serves approximately 38,000 students and over 5,900 employees. She was first elected to the board in May 1998, re-elected in 2002 and again in 2006, serving as vice-chairman.

Hill served on the Board of Directors for the Virginia School Boards Association, where she was chairman of the Tidewater Region. She also served on its Federal Relations Network Committee, which is composed of experienced government relations professionals who closely monitor educational actions on Capitol Hill.

Hill is involved in a number of community organizations including the Board of Directors of the Boys and Girls Club of Southeast Virginia, and was a past recipient of the NAACP Flame Bearer of Education Award.


Award of Excellence & Award of Distinction, Virginia School Boards Association

Outstanding Woman of Tidewater” Award, Bennett College Alumni Association

NAACP “Flame Bearer of Education” Award

“Outstanding Community Service Award”, Portsmouth Community Services Board

“Martin Luther King Leadership Award, Exodus Faith Ministries, January, 2007


"Fostering Resiliency in Our Children: Conquering Life's Challenges", Virginia Teacher, (formerly Tidewater Teacher), fall, 2010.


Regent University Committees:

  • Regent University Campus Conduct Board for Title IX Procedures and Adjudication Process

  • Secretary, EADM Subcommittee

  • Career switcher Subcommittee

  • TEAC Subcommittee

  • Advisory Board, Educational Leadership Program

  • Chair, Dissertation Committee for three doctoral candidates

Meet Our Faculty

Hope Jordan, Ph.D.


Special Education Program Chair

Reading Specialist Program Chair

757.352.4438 hopejor@regent.edu
Glenn Koonce, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

Educational Leadership Program Chair

757.352.4316 glenkoo@regent.edu
Jeff Pittman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

IDP & Student Affairs Program Chair

757.352.4205 jeffpit@regent.edu
W. George Selig, Ed.D.

Distinguished Chair of Educational Leadership

757.352.4137 georsel@regent.edu
Mervyn J. Wighting, Ph.D.


Career Switcher Program Chair

757.352.4321 mervwig@regent.edu


Mercy Alarid, Ed.D.
Eric Armbruster, Ph.D.
Iris Killian Barrett, Ed.D.
Samuel Botta, Ed.D.
Denita Bottoms, Ed.S.
Ardene Bunch, Ed.D.
Dana Cavallaro, D.Min.
Colleen Derr, Ed.D.
Sandra Fortner, Ed.D.
Hope George, Ed.D.
David Geurin, Ed.D.
Arlene Gibson, Ed.D.
Katherine Goldman, Ed.D.
Nancy J. Hameloth, Ed.D.
LaDonna Hankins, Ph.D.
Christine Harris, Ph.D.
Shevine Holeman, Ph.D.
Kathleen Hopkins, Ed.D.
Theodore Jenney, Ph.D.
Matthew Kellogg, Ph.D.
Jonathan Kohns, Ed.D.
Danielle Kreassig, Ed.D.
Alice Ledford, Ed.D.
Julie Ann Ligon, Ph.D.
Anne Mannarino, Ed.D.
Rene Lanette Martinez, Ph.D.
Darwin Evander Mills, Ed.D.
Ryan Murnane, Ph.D.
Michael R. Myers, Ed.D.
Roni S. Myers-Daub, Ed.D.
Heather Newton, Ed.D.
Rhiannon Jordan Perry, J.D.
Robin Puryear, Ph.D.
Ann Shufflebarger, Ed.D.
Cynthia Sparks, Ed.D.
Patricia Stewart, Ph.D.
Catherine Walsh, Ph.D.
Donna Wolfe, Ph.D.

Instructional Team Member

Homer Allen, M.Ed.
Moyra-Lee Babb, M.A.
Jacqueline Bruso, M.A.
Rachel Copeland, M.Ed.
Susan Crosland, M.Ed.
Myra Jessie Flint, M.Ed.
Sarah McKown, M.A.
Donna Revellon, M.A.
Ashley Rombs, M.Ed.
Carolyn Thompson, M.A.