Regent University Faculty Distinguished with Spring 2018 Faculty Excellence Awards

Regent University, Virginia Beach, offers a range of on-campus and online degrees.On Tuesday, May 15, several Regent University faculty members were recognized for extraordinary achievement with the Spring 2018 Faculty Excellence Awards in three areas: teaching, service and scholarship.

Honored as the recipient of the 2018 Faculty Excellence Award in the area of scholarship was School of Communication & the Arts professor Dr. Stephen Perry.

“He has a history of prestigious publications,” said Dr. Gerson Moreno-Riaño, executive vice president of Regent’s Office of Academic Affairs,. “His article, ‘The Sponsor’s Fight for Audience: How General Foods Promoted Listenership from the Byrd Expedition Broadcasts,’ was published in the Journal of Radio and Audio Media (JRAM) and was named the ‘top article published in JRAM in 2017.’”

Moreno-Riaño also noted his chapter contribution to a book titled Studies of Communication in the 2016 Presidential Campaign, and his authorship of several books.

School of Psychology & Counseling associate professor Dr. Eric Jones received the 2018 Faculty Excellence Award in the area of teaching. Moreno-Riaño said that he’s quick to adapt his teaching style to individual student needs, and he routinely receives very positive student evaluation marks, many of whom claim he’s “one of the best” professors they’ve had.

“Students praise him with the following words: ‘Great teacher, very enthusiastic and always ready to teach;’ and ‘he arrives to class every day with a smile; you can tell he really cares about his students,’” said Moreno-Riaño.

School of Law professor Jeffrey Brauch was awarded the 2018 Faculty Excellence Award in the area of service. In addition to his role as the chair of the university’s Quality Enhancement Plan for the 2019 SACSCOC accreditation review, he also serves as the Executive Director of the Center for Global Justice, Human Rights, and the Rule of Law.

“He develops the Center’s strategic direction, directs student intern and staff programs, and develops the fellowship program,” said Moreno-Riaño. “He also serves as the director of the law school’s LL.M. program.”

Faculty tenure and promotion were also announced at the meeting:

College of Arts & Sciences
Dr. Michael Elam
School of Business & Leadership
Dr. Doris Gomez
Dr. Timothy Redmer
Dr. Bruce Winston

Communication & the Arts

Dr. Andrew Quicke

School of Divinity

Dr. Mark Cartledge
Dr. Dale Coulter
Dr. Peter Gräbe
Dr. Michael Palmer

School of Education

Dr. Jennifer Flannagan

Robertson School of Government
Dr. Eric Patterson
Dr. Mary Manjikian

School of Law
Professor James Duane
Professor Gloria Whittico

School of Psychology & Counseling
Dr. David Savinksy
Dr. James Sells
Dr. Lee Underwood
Dr. Olya Zaporozhets