Virginia Penalties and Laws

All students, faculty and staff should be aware that under Virginia law, a conviction for the use, possession, or distribution of illicit or unlawful drugs may result in the following criminal sanctions.

The following chart displays the state laws for alcohol violations:

OFFENSE FINE INCARCERATION SUPPLEMENTAL SANCTIONS
Underage Possession and/or Transportation $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Loss of Driver’s License for up to 1 year

Possible 50 Hours of Community Service in Lieu of Fine

Using a False Driver’s License to Purchase Alcohol $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Loss of Driver’s License for up to 1 year
Buying Alcohol for a Minor $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Loss of Driver’s License for up to 1 Year
Selling Alcohol to Minors or Intoxicated Person. $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Loss of Driver’s License for up to 1 Year
Drunk in Public Up to $250 N/A N/A
Disorderly Conduct $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A
Abusive Language Up to $250 N/A N/A
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 1st Offense $250 to $2,500 Up to 12 months Loss of Driver’s License for 1 Year
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 2nd Offense Within 10 Years $500 to $2,500 30 days to 1 Year. Loss of Driver’s License for 3 Years
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 3rd Offense Within 10 Years $1,000 to $2,500 Up to 5 Years Permanent Loss of Driver’s License

Vehicle Seizure

Unlicensed Alcohol Sale $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A
Drinking in Public Up to $250 N/A N/A

 

The following chart displays state laws for drug violations:

 

OFFENSE FINE INCARCERATION SUPPLEMENTAL SANCTIONS
Possession of Marijuana (Under .5 oz. for Personal Use) 1st time offense Up to $500 Up to 30 Days in Jail N/A
Possession of Marijuana (Under .5 oz. for Personal Use) 2nd time offense $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute Under .5 oz. $500 to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute .5 oz. to 5 lbs. $500 to $2,500 12 Months to 10 Years N/A
Possession of Marijuana with Intent to Sell/Distribute 5 lbs. or greater Up to $2,500 5 to 30 Years N/A
Sale of Marijuana to a Minor (at Least 3 years Younger) Up to $100,000 10 to 50 Years N/A
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia (not illegal unless intent to sell) Up to $1,000 Up to 6 Months N/A
Selling Drug Paraphernalia to Adult Up to $2,500 Up to 12 months N/A
Selling Drug Paraphernalia to Minor (at Least 3 Years Younger) Up to $2,500 1 to 5 Years N/A
Possession of Schedule I Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 10 Years N/A
Possession of Schedule II Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 2 Years N/A
Possession of Schedule III Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A
Possession of Schedule IV Drug Up to $1,000 Up to 6 Months N/A
Possession of Schedule V Drug Up to $500 N/A N/A
Possession of Schedule VI Drug Up to $250 N/A N/A
Distribution of Schedule I or II Drug (1st Offense) Up to $500,000 5 to 40 Years N/A
Distribution of Schedule I or II Drug (2nd Offense) Up to $500,000 5 years to Life N/A
Distribution of Schedule III Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Or 1 to 10 Years in Prison in Lieu of Fine
Distribution of Schedule IV Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 12 Months Or 1 to 5 Years in Prison in Lieu of Fine
Distribution of Schedule V and VI Drug Up to $2,500 Up to 12 Months N/A

 

Take the Next Step