Faculty

Miles Smith, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

Bio

Dr. Miles Smith previously taught at Texas Christian University and Hillsdale College. His teaching generally focuses on the Nineteenth Century United States, but he also enjoys lecturing on Europe and Latin America.


Smith has authored academic articles and writes occasionally for popular websites, blogs and online journals. He also served as an editor on an award-winning document collection.


Smith is an 11th generation North Carolinian. He was raised in Salisbury, about halfway between Charlotte and Greensboro but mainly calls Charlotte home when he’s with his family. In his spare time, he is an avid reader of history and fiction, especially British and southern literature. When not reading, he is probably watching sports, especially basketball and football.

Meet Our Faculty

Albert Ball, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

  aball@regent.edu
John Bauer, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, General Education

757.352.4064 jbauer@regent.edu
Brian Baugus, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership & Management

757.352.4771 bbaugus@regent.edu
Cheryl Beauchamp, M.S.

Department Chair; Lecturer, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4772 cherbea@regent.edu
Joseph J. Bucci, D.B.A.

Department Chair; Associate Professor, Business, Leadership & Management

757.352.4553 jbucci@regent.edu
Young B. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4949 ychoi@regent.edu
Ruth Cody, DNP, MSN, RN-BC

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, College of Healthcare Sciences

757.352.4529 rcody@regent.edu
Kevin R. Crawford, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor, English & Communication Studies

Undergraduate Communication Studies Program Coordinator

757.352.4254 kevicra@regent.edu
Michael Crews, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4333 mcrews@regent.edu
Emily Darraj, Ph.D.

Professional-in-Residence, Engineering & Computer Science

  edarraj@regent.edu
Laura M Dimler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology

757.352.4166 ldimler@regent.edu
Jacqueline Earle, Ph.D.

Practitioner-in-Residence, Business, Leadership & Management

  jjackson@regent.edu
Michael D. Elam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4878 melam@regent.edu
Peter Fraser, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Associate Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4562 pfraser@regent.edu
Cheryl A. Gould, Ed.D.

Department Chair; Assistant Professor, Education & Interdisciplinary Studies

757.352.4029 chergou@regent.edu
Kevin Grimm, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4551 kgrimm@regent.edu
Dominick D. Hankle, Ph.D.

Department Chair; Associate Professor, Psychology

757.352.4762 dhankle@regent.edu
Steven M. Hays, DSL

Department Chair; Associate Professor, College of Healthcare Sciences

757.352.4721 stevhay@regent.edu
James M. Henderson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies & Christian Ministry

757.352.4993 jamehe1@regent.edu
Deva Henry, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4590 dhenry@regent.edu
Robert Herron, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

  rherron@regent.edu
Nicholas Higgins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4780 nichhig@regent.edu
Michael Hill-Kirkland, Ph.D., MFA

Professor, Performing Arts & Music

Supervisor for MFA in Acting Program

757.352.4730 michhil@regent.edu
Tabmitha Jervey, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor, Science, Technology & Mathematics

757.352.4140 tjervey@regent.edu
C. Eric Jones, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychology

757.352.4742 ejones@regent.edu
Donald Joyner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership & Management

757.352.4756 dtjoyner@regent.edu
John Keeler, Ph.D.

Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4248 johnkee@regent.edu
Thomas A. Keiser, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor & Department Chair, Biblical Studies & Christian Ministry

757.352.4047 tkeiser@regent.edu
Stephen M King, Ph.D.

Department Chair; Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4753 smking@regent.edu
Dan Koev, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4659 dkoev@regent.edu
Patricia Kraft, Ed.D.

Director, School of Nursing, College of Healthcare Sciences

757.352.4580 pkraft@regent.edu
Don Krudop, DMA

Professional in Residence, Performing Arts & Music

Director of Choral Activities

757.352.4204 donkrud@regent.edu
Jeremy Larson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4221 jlarson@regent.edu
Patricia Lutz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Chair of Science and Math Department

757.352.4432 plutz@regent.edu
Wilma (Ginger) C. Matti, Ph.D., MSN, RN

Lecturer, School of Nursing, College of Healthcare Sciences

757.352.4873 gmatti@regent.edu
Micah Mattix, Ph.D.

Department Chair; Associate Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4464 mmattix@regent.edu
Joshua McMullen, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Curriculum

Department Chair; Associate Professor, General Education

Director, Honors Program

757.352.4776 jmcmullen@regent.edu
Stephen Perry, Ph.D.

Professor, English & Communication Studies

Director of Graduate Programs in Communication

757.352.4203 sperry@regent.edu
Matthew Pevarnik, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Science, Technology & Mathematics

757.352.4750 mpevarnik@regent.edu
Amber Quarles, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership & Management

757.352.4172 ambequa@regent.edu
William Reddinger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4470 wreddinger@regent.edu
William Skiles, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, General Education

757.352.4745 wskiles@regent.edu
Julie S. Snyder, MSN, RN-BC

Lecturer, School of Nursing, College of Healthcare Sciences

757.352.4014 jsnyder@regent.edu
Peggy Southerland, B.A.

Department Chair; Professional-in-Residence, Media & Visual Arts and Performing Arts & Music

757.352.4698 peggys@regent.edu
Charles Turnitsa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4691 cturnitsa@regent.edu
David Wallace, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies & Christian Ministry

757.352.4645 dwallace@regent.edu
Kenneth Wantz, Ph.D.

Professor, Science, Technology & Mathematics

757.352.4755 kwantz@regent.edu
Megan Weaver-Seitz, MFA

Assistant Professor, Media & Visual Arts

757.352.4561 mweaver@regent.edu
Stephen A. Webb, M.S.

Principal Lecturer, Government, History & Criminal Justice

757.352.4609 swebb@regent.edu
Caramine White, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, English & Communication Studies

757.352.4614 cwhite@regent.edu
Vincent Williams, MFA

Associate Professor, Media & Visual Arts

757-352-4373 vwilliams@regent.edu
David Xu, MFA

Associate Professor of Animation

757.352.4235 dxu@regent.edu

Adjunct

Clement Abrams
Catherine R Abramson, Dr.
Mark Ackerman
Angela Aliff
Stephanie Allen
James H Allen, Dr.
Laura L Allnutt, Ms.
Michael A Allshouse, Mr.
Keith Alston
Chevette Alston
Lilia Anand
Harry M Argo, Mr.
Boampong Asare
Jessica A Austin, Mrs.
Lance Bacon
Jeff T Bajah, Mr.
Christopher A Baker, Dr.
Shelly A Baker, Dr.
JaNee D Bartley, Mrs.
David Barton
Gregory M Baumgardner, Mr.
Debra B Bazemore, Mrs.
Gregory Beck
Stephen Bialowas, Dr.
Paul E Bidanset, Mr.
David S Bilberry
Shannon Bilunas
Craig H Blackman, Mr.
Rachel Blisson
Michael Boling
Paul W Boller, Mr.
Feler Bose
Nicholas Bottis
Daniel J Bourgoine, Mr.
Marshall W Bowles, Dr.
Alicia Boyd
Jeffrey Brangan
Elizabeth Branum, Ms.
Bryan Breland
Marcus W Bridges, Dr.
Carla Brown
Mark Brown
Crystal Brown
Stephen Bruce
Glenice Burchard
Candyce J Burke, Ms.
Olga A Butenko Moseley, Mrs.
Lisa Byrum
Steven Carlin
Christopher Carrothers
Sarah Carson
Zackery Carter
Dawn Casas
Roberto Castaneda
Daniel Castellucci
David Castle
Melody Cazort
Mary-Lynn Chambers, Dr.
Margaret L Charlton, Dr.
Jessica L Charney, Mrs.
Marie N Chavarria, Mrs.
Marlo Chavarria
Jerry Ching
David Christian
Jesse Chupp
Marla J Coats, Mrs.
Richard Coffelt
Elliott Cooke
Willie Cordy
Michael Creef
Denise G Crews, Dr.
Susan Crosland
Erin Cross
Steven Crowther
Victor Cuartas
David L Cullipher, Mr.
April Cunion
Angelo Dart
Joshua Davis
Benjamin Davis
Mark Davis
Michael Davis
Stephen Dawson, DSL
Josiah DePriest
Jeffrey Dear
Elaine P Denson, Mrs.
Martin Dignard, Ph.D.
Mary Dixon
Otha J Dixon-McKnight, Dr.
James Downey
Dorothy Downing
Patricia Drown
Stacey Duke
Sharene N Duncombe, Mrs.
Jacqueline Earle
Elizabeth Elam
Scott Ellington
Mark Ellis
Mark A Engel, Mr.
Cynthia L Eshleman, Mrs.
Maria-Cristina Espinoza-Alguera
Natalie Esposito Churchill
Jacquelyn Evans
James Ewing
Michael Ferber
Cassandra Ferreira
Andrea Fierbaugh
Wyatt Fisher
Lisa A Flanagan, Mrs.
Margaret Fletcher
John C Forkner, Mr.
Joy Francis
Mark Frederick
Christopher Free
Colleen Freeman
David French
Richard Fuhr
Takenya Fulks
Laura Fuller
David J Gardner, Mr.
Mark O Gatlin, Mr.
Bruce W Gay, Dr.
Mary L Gierszewski, Ms.
Marti Glass
Terilyn Goins
Ascencion Gomez
Peggy Gomez
Wesley Gow
Kyle Graham, Mr.
Ashley-Loren J Grant, Ms.
Sherilyn Grant
Gary Grimm
Christine L Habrle, Ms.
Lisa A Hacker, Mrs.
Clinton Hale
Kristin Hanley
Deborah Harkness, Mrs.
Andrea L Harrison, Dr.
Lisa Hawkins
Jeffery Hayman, D.Sc.
Edward Heath
Joshua Henson
Carol Hepburn
Kristen Hester
Matthew S Hill, Dr.
Sofoklis Hiotellis
Steven L Holeman, Mr.
Andrew S Hollis, Mr.
Mildred Horner-Smith, Dr.
Terry House
Kirk T Houston, Mr.
Jonathan Howell
John Huisman
Russell Huizing
Darnell Huntley
Alice Hutton
Erica Hutton
Stephanie Iaquinto
Barbara Ingram
Connie Ingram
Erin-Sean Ireland
Scott Jackson
Jeffrey Jarnot
Brandon L Jendrejas, Mr.
Sarah Jones
Herman Kastroll
Nona B Kelly, Ms.
Michael Kelly
Jeffrey Kennedy
Kristyl W Kepley, Dr.
Sean F Kirkpatrick, Mr.
Sean Kirnan
Erin Kode
Penny Kohns
Thomas Kreischer
Michele LaCorte
Alycia LaFavor
Mark LaVoie
Lindsey Lahaie
Michele A Lahaie, Ms.
Timothy Lannon
Eric M Lansing, Mr.
Kevin Larsen
Laura Latora
Dorothy Leal
Katherine Elise H Leal, Ms.
Pamela Lee
Karen Legg
Sarah E Leland, Mrs.
James B Lewis, Dr.
Scott D Liebhauser, Mr.
O. Fred Liggin IV
Heidi Livingston
Arthur Livingston
Rebecca Loaiza
Robert Malcolm
Juana Malone
Anne Mannarino, Ed.D.
Garry Martin
Kristina Martin
Perry Martini
Olena Maslennikova
Joshua Matlack
Stuart Mattfield
William Mauro
Marisa May
John McClary
Jacob McCleese
John McCloud
Corren McCoy
Dena McElligott
Sean David McGoran
Suzette Meeks
Brian Melton
Jeremy M Mendenhall, Mr.
Delceno Miles
John Miller
Roderick R Mills, Mr.
Dana Milstein
William Minner
Terry Minter
Alyssa G Moore, Ms.
Mary T Morgan, Ms.
Camden Morgante
James Moten
Ryan Murnane
Gerald Nichter
Steven Noffsinger
Amanda F Noon, Mrs.
Richard Nugara
Michael O'Donnell
Jason O'Neal
Sheila Owens
Ryan Pace, MFA
Paul Palma
Anthony Palmer
Stephen Palser
Jamie L Parent, Ms.
Cary Paulk
Heidi Peelen
Kay Lynn Perry, MFA
Dayne Peterson
Traci T Pierce, Dr.
Sarah Pike, Miss
Alicia Plant, Dr.
Alva Poole
Michael Porter
Thomas Powell
John Powers
Jeffrey J Puhala, Mr.
David Quackenbos
Monica Reilly
Amy Rickards
Peyton Roberts
Clinton Roberts
Jason Rodriguez, MFA
James Rolen
Roger Rome
D Rouleau, Mr.
Stephen Russell
Megen Saez
Charles Sanders
Mark Scharfe
Timothy Schauer
Sarah Schulte
Jessica T Scott, Mrs.
Bradley Shedd
Sonja Sheffield
Tabitha Sierra, Psy.D.
Michelle Simms
Bryan Sims
Amanda Skrobacki
Kelly A Smith, Mrs.
Stephanie B Snyder, Mr.
Don Solomon
Joel Solomon
Julianne Spatacean
Donnie Staggs
Richard Stultz
Mercedes Sullivan
Peter Surran, Mr.
Paula Taylor
Jeffrey Teo
Anne B Tew, Mrs.
Blisson Thangamani
Debra Touhey
Douglas W Turrell, Mr.
Lauren J VanTalia, Dr.
Deborah Vaughn
Stacey Villanueva
Pee N Vululleh, Dr.
Adam Wagner
Steven Wallace
Ricky Wamble
Terry Weaver
Brian Weaver
Anne E Weiss, Dr.
William West
George West
Kerry K Westerwick, Mrs.
James Wheeler
Brian Williams
William Wilson
William Wilson
William Winner
Jason M Wise, Dr.
Kevin Wolfe
James Wood
Amanda Wynn, Ph.D.
Jonathan G Zachary, Mr.
Cheryl A Zell, Mrs.
Mark Zillges
Winell S de Mesa, Dr.