Faculty

Bio

Dr. Merrill Reese completed both his M.A. in Community Counseling and his Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision at Regent University. He earned his B.S. in Psychology at Virginia Commonwealth University. Through his educational and professional opportunities at Regent, Reese has experienced enhancement of clinical skills as a counselor, graduate education, development of academic instructional skills, and opportunities to teach both locally and abroad.


Reese is dedicated to the creation of a sacred space for the participant to do their work as both a counselor and an educator. His major areas of interest include compassion fatigue, grief and loss, group counseling, marital and family therapy, and the role of spirituality in counseling.

Publications

Reese, M. T. (2009). "Sharing faith and therapy in South Africa." Faith and Therapy, Vol. 3 (7).


Reese, M. (2007). "Compassion Fatigue." Faith and Therapy, Vol. 2 (4).

Affiliations

2007 - 2013 American Counseling Association
2009 - 2011 American Association of Counselor Education and Supervision
2009 - 2011 Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling
2009 - 2011 Association for Death Education and Counseling
2008 - 2013 Christian Association for Psychological Studies
2011 - 2012 Virginia Counselors Association

Meet Our Faculty

Anna Ord, Psy.D.

M.S. in General Psychology Program Director

Assistant Professor

757.352.4673 annashi@regent.edu
Cassandra D. Page, Psy.D.

Assistant PSC Director

Assistant Professor

757.352.4292 cpage@regent.edu
Jennifer Ripley, Ph.D.

Director of Marriage & Ministry Assessment Training & Empowerment (MMATE) Center

Professor

757.352.4296 jennrip@regent.edu
Anderson B. Rowan, Ph.D.

Psy.D. Program Director

Professor

757.352.4433 arowan@regent.edu
James N. Sells, Ph.D.

Assistant Dean for Academics

Professor

757.352.4368 jsells@regent.edu
Jacqueline R. Smith, Ed.D.

Counseling Department Chair

Clinical Counseling Programs Director

Associate Professor

757.352.4499 jrsmith@regent.edu
Amy Trout, Psy.D.

MA in Human Services Counseling Program Director

Associate Professor

757.352.4349 atrout@regent.edu
Cyrus Williams, Ph.D.

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision Program Director

Associate Professor

757.352.4576 cwilliams2@regent.edu