Dr. Mitch Land is the dean of the School of Communication & the Arts at Regent University. His expertise is in international communication and media ethics. In addition, he consults on journalism training efforts that are sponsored by organizations with the U. S. Department of State.

Land came to Regent from his position as founding dean of the Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism, and the founding director of the Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism at the University of North Texas (UNT). He is also co-founder of UNT's nationally acclaimed Mayborn Conference in Literary Nonfiction, which annually hosts top-tier writers. The conference is held in July in the Greater Dallas and Fort Worth Metropolitan area.

Land earned his Ph.D. at the University of Texas in radio, television and film, with emphases in international/development communication and cultural anthropology. He teaches courses on media ethics, studies, theories and management, international communications, public relations cases and campaigns, public opinion and propaganda, creative and feature writing, media law, and comparative media systems. He also holds workshops for journalists, editors and publishers in both English and French in Africa. Land is fluent in French and studied French language and culture at the Universite de Haute Bretagne and Universite de la Touraine, France.


Runner-Up Paper Award for the Open Paper Session, Media Ethics Division, ÒNon-Western Ethics Analysis of Media Coverage of Death During the 2010 Winter OlympicsÓ

First author of co-authored paper submitted to the 2010 AEJMC International Convention, August 4-7, Denver.

Co-edited book, Contemporary Media Ethics nominated in 2006 and 2007 for the Clifford G. Christians Ethics Research Award Visiting Scholar to Hawaii Pacific University, Honolulu 2006 summer session

Visiting Scholar to Western Galilee College 2006 winter session

Citation for Distinguished Service to International Education in 2004 by UNT

First Place for Top Syllabi Competition in Introductory Course. AEJMC Convention, Aug. 10-13, 1996. Anaheim, Ca.

Professor of the Month, March 1996, presented by the Panhellenic Association for unsurpassed achievements at the University of North Texas

Third-Place Winner of the International Association of Business Communication (IABC) Teaching Papers Competition: ÒAwakening the Right Brain in Feature Writing: Whole-Brain Teaching for Public Relations,ÓWashington, DC, Aug. 10, 1995.

Recipient of the Huck Boyd stipend on community building media, National Newspaper Association, Sept. 20, 1995.

Selected in a national competition to the case study team of the International Radio and Television Society Foundation, New York, NY. Feb. 11, 1995. The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi The Honor Society of Kappa Tau Alpha


Selected Publications: Contemporary Media Ethics: a Practical Guide for Students, Scholars and Professionals (ed. With Koji Fuse and Bill Hornaday), Marquette Books, 2013

"Expanding the Philosophical Base for Ethical Public Relations Practice: Cross-Cultural Case Application of Non-Western Ethical Philosophies," Western Journal of Communication, Vol. 74, No.4, 2010

"True Tales of a Tall Tower: KCEN-TV 50 Years and Beyond" (with Richard Wells), Channel 6 Inc., 2003


Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (AEJMC); International Academy of Business Disciplines (IABC); African Studies Association; Western Social Science Association

Meet Our Faculty

William J. Brown, Ph.D.
William J. Brown, Ph.D.

Chair of the Strategic Communication & Journalism Department

Chair of the Doctoral Program in Communication

Professor and Research Fellow

757.352.4216 willbro@regent.edu
David Garcia, M.A.
David Garcia, M.A.


Director of Technical Operations

757.352.4239 daviga2@regent.edu
Eric Harrell, MFA
Eric Harrell, MFA

Producing Artistic Director

Tidewater Stage Associate Professor

757.352.4211 eharrell@regent.edu
Michael Hill-Kirkland, Ph.D.
Michael Hill-Kirkland, Ph.D.

Chair of the Theatre Arts Department

Head of the MFA in Acting


757.352.4730 michhil@regent.edu


Jayson Akridge, M.F.A.
Alexis Akridge, B.A.
Blair Allen, M.A.
Stuart Bennett, M.F.A.
J. Dennis Bounds, Ph.D.
Adam Bova, M.F.A.
Chester Branch, Ph.D.
David Brush, M.A.
Alison Bugg, M.F.A.
Kara Burk, B.A.
Michael Burnett, M.F.A.
Heidi Campbell
Bethany Cragin-Day, M.F.A.
Kevin Crawford, Ph.D.
Jonathan Cyprowski, M.A.
Gillette Elvgren, Ph.D.
Nelson Fong, J.D.
Craig Forrest, Ph.D.
David Foster, M.F.A.
Joseph Frost, M.F.A.
Terilyn Goins, Ph.D.
Judith Gooch, M.A.
Michael Graves, Ph.D.
Courtney Jackson, M.A.
Stanley Jeter, M.A.
Edward Johnson, Ph.D.
Peter Kenny, Ph.D.
Mark Keuthan, Ph.D.
Richard Klein, M.A.
Andrew Lease, M.F.A.
Leon Leonidoff, B.A.
John McClary, M.A.
Rebecca McCoy-Reese, M.A.
Delceno Miles, M.A.
Stacey Miller, M.P.W.
Robert Millett, M.F.A.
Renee Mitchell, B.M.
Marc Newman, Ph.D.
Macayla Nicolaison, J.D.
Ryan Pace, M.F.A.
Lionello Partible, A.A.
Kay Lynn Perry, M.F.A.
Markus Pfeiffer, Ph.D.
April Poland, M.F.A.
Cheryl Price, M.A.
Nancy Prodnuk, Ph.D.
Charles Reese, M.F.A.
Jason Rodriguez, M.F.A.
Katharine Salsbury, M.F.A.
Michael Salsbury, M.F.A.
Clyde Santana, M.F.A.
Michael Smith, Ph.D.
Kristie Stahl, M.A.
Michael Stahl, M.A.
Sarah Turney, M.A.
James Ward, Ph.D.
Kathryn Wilson, B.M.
Gorman Woodfin, M.F.A.