Faculty

Young B. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

Bio

Dr. Young B. Choi has worked for Broadxent, Inc., a subsidiary of Singaporean multinational company CREATIVE Technology Ltd., as a principal engineer; Birlasoft, Inc., an Indian software consulting firm, as a senior systems analyst; and COMPAQ Computer Corporation (currently, Hewlett-Packard) in Silicon Valley, California, as a development manager.


He has also taught and researched at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania, James Madison University, The University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City Kansas Community College, ETRI (Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute), KAIST (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology), and Chonnam National University.


Choi has served as an associate technical editor of the IEEE Communications Magazine of the IEEE Communications Society since 2005, and has worked as an editorial board member of the IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials, as well as many other international journals and conferences in computer networking and telecommunications fields.

Awards

The Chancellor's Non-Resident Award of the University of Missouri-Kansas City, 1988
INTEROP '92 Networking Achievement Award in Education Category, 1992
Best Paper Award of the Track of HICSS-27, 1994
Best Paper Award of IEEE NOMS '96, 1996
Outstanding Contribution Award of the TeleManagement Forum, 1998
Best Practitioner Publication Award of James Madison University College of Business, 2006
Marquis Who's Who in the World, 2006, 2007
The 2000 Outstanding Scientists 2008/2009 by IBC (International Biographical Centre), Cambridge, England, 2008, 2009
The International Profiles of Accomplished Leaders of ABI (American Biographical Institute, Inc.), 2008
Best Paper Award of the MTMI (Modern Technology and Management Institute, Inc.) 2014
International Conference, Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA, September 19-20, 2014
Regent University Distinctive Service Award
Regent University Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship 2016 (Also nominated in 2014 and 2015)

Meet Our Faculty

Brian Baugus, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership and Management

757.352.4771 bbaugus@regent.edu
Cheryl Beauchamp, M.S.

Department Chair, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4772 cherbea@regent.edu
Joseph J. Bucci, D.B.A.

Department Chair; Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership and Management

757.352.4553 jbucci@regent.edu
Kevin R. Crawford, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Communication and Media Arts

Undergraduate Communication Studies Program Coordinator

757.352.4254 kevicra@regent.edu
Peter Fraser, Ph.D.

Director, School of Communications & the Arts

757.352.4562 pfraser@regent.edu
Cheryl A. Gould, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor, Teacher Education and Interdisciplinary Studies

757.352.4029 chergou@regent.edu
Kevin Grimm, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4551 kgrimm@regent.edu
Dominick D. Hankle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department Chair, Psychology

757.352.4762 dhankle@regent.edu
James M. Henderson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry

757.352.4993 jamehe1@regent.edu
Robert Herron, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

  rherron@regent.edu
Nicholas Higgins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice, General Education

757.352.4780 nichhig@regent.edu
C. Eric Jones, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychology

757.352.4742 ejones@regent.edu
Tom Keiser, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry

757.352.4047 tkeiser@regent.edu
Stephen M King, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Faculty and Teaching

Chair, Department of Government, History, and Criminal Justice

Professor of Government

757.352.4753 smking@regent.edu
Dan Koev, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice, General Education

  dkoev@regent.edu
Kurt Kreassig, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor, Department Chair, Teacher Education and Interdisciplinary Studies

757.352.4372 kkreassig@regent.edu
Patricia Lutz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Science, Technology, and Mathematics

757.352.4432 plutz@regent.edu
Micah Mattix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English

Department Chair, English

757-352-4464 mmattix@regent.edu
Joshua McMullen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, General Education

Department Chair, General Education

Director, Honors Program

757.352.4776 jmcmullen@regent.edu
Gerson Moreno-Riaño, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs

757.352.4320 gmorenoriano@regent.edu
Jeremy Painter, D.Litt.

Assistant Professor, English

Director of University Writing Center

757.352.4144 jerepai@regent.edu
William Reddinger, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4470 wreddinger@regent.edu
Miles Smith, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

  mjsmith@regent.edu
Peggy Southerland, B.A.

Chair of Communication and Arts Department

Professional-in-Residence

Animation

757.352.4698 peggys@regent.edu
Robert S. Stewart Jr., Ph.D.

Professor

Department Chair, Science, Technology and Math

757.352.4405 rstewart@regent.edu
Charles Turnitsa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4691 cturnitsa@regent.edu
Kenneth Wantz, Ph.D.

Professor, Science, Technology, and Mathematics

757.352.4755 kwantz@regent.edu
Stephen A. Webb, M.S.

Principal Lecturer, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4609 swebb@regent.edu
David Xu, MFA

Associate Professor, Communication and Arts

757.352.4235 dxu@regent.edu