Faculty

Kevin R. Crawford, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Communication and Media Arts

Undergraduate Communication Studies Program Coordinator

Bio

Born and raised in Ohio, Dr. Kevin R. Crawford "runs the world" on two passports. Having lived and worked both sides of the border, he is a dual citizen of Canada and the U.S. Crawford is an avid cyclist; he raced semi-professionally during high school and college, and still road bikes 100+ miles per week. Happily married for more than 30 years, Crawford and his wife make their home in Chesapeake, Virginia.


In addition to being a working writer and executive-producer, Crawford has served as visiting lecturer in screenwriting at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, and graduate professor of film and screen studies at Regent University's School of Communication & the Arts. He came to screenwriting from "a previous life" working as a pastor-teacher. He is an ordained minister with the Christian & Missionary Alliance, and has led congregations in Western Canada and throughout the Southern and Mid-Atlantic regions of the U.S.


Crawford's published works range in scope from professional and trade periodicals to newspaper and scholarly journals. He has written and spoken on issues of pop culture, film and spirituality, and believes the most "sacred" task in every age falls to the writer. He is deeply committed to nurturing story-tellers in their craft. Crawford's motto: Whoever tells the story, defines culture!

Awards

2010 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, Regent University
Glen G. Henson Scholar
Morse Family Communications Scholar
Louise Du Art and SQuire Rushnell Communication Arts Scholar
2007 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, Regent University
Member of Theta Phi (International Honors Society for Scholars in the Field of Religion)
Member of Lambda Pi Eta (International Communication Honors Society)


Professional:


2007 Finalist, Creative Screenwriting Magazine's AAA TV Writing Contest, Hollywood, CA
2007 Finalist, First Glance Annual Feature Length Screenplay Competition, Hollywood, CA
2006 Finalist, PAGE International Screenwriting Awards, Hollywood, CA
2006 Finalist, 12th Annual Writers Network Screenplay & Fiction Competition, co-sponsored by WGA Signatory Literary Agencies in Los Angeles and New York
2005 Finalist, PAGE International Screenwriting Awards, Hollywood, CA
2005 Finalist, American Gem Short Screenplay Contest, Filmmaker's Magazine, Irvine, CA

Affiliations

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
Society for Animation Studies
University Film & Video Association
International Communication Association
National Communication Association
Religious Communication Association
Writers Guild of America, Independent Writer's Caucus
American Screenwriters Association

Meet Our Faculty

Brian Baugus, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership and Management

757.352.4771 bbaugus@regent.edu
Cheryl Beauchamp, M.S.

Department Chair, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4772 cherbea@regent.edu
Joseph J. Bucci, D.B.A.

Department Chair; Assistant Professor, Business, Leadership and Management

757.352.4553 jbucci@regent.edu
Young B. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor, Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4949 ychoi@regent.edu
Peter Fraser, Ph.D.

Director, School of Communications & the Arts

757.352.4562 pfraser@regent.edu
Cheryl A. Gould, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor, Teacher Education and Interdisciplinary Studies

757.352.4029 chergou@regent.edu
Kevin Grimm, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4551 kgrimm@regent.edu
Dominick D. Hankle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department Chair, Psychology

757.352.4762 dhankle@regent.edu
James M. Henderson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry

757.352.4993 jamehe1@regent.edu
Robert Herron, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

  rherron@regent.edu
Nicholas Higgins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice, General Education

757.352.4780 nichhig@regent.edu
C. Eric Jones, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychology

757.352.4742 ejones@regent.edu
Tom Keiser, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry

757.352.4047 tkeiser@regent.edu
Stephen M King, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Faculty and Teaching

Chair, Department of Government, History, and Criminal Justice

Professor of Government

757.352.4753 smking@regent.edu
Dan Koev, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice, General Education

  dkoev@regent.edu
Kurt Kreassig, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor, Department Chair, Teacher Education and Interdisciplinary Studies

757.352.4372 kkreassig@regent.edu
Patricia Lutz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Science, Technology, and Mathematics

757.352.4432 plutz@regent.edu
Micah Mattix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English

Department Chair, English

757-352-4464 mmattix@regent.edu
Joshua McMullen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, General Education

Department Chair, General Education

Director, Honors Program

757.352.4776 jmcmullen@regent.edu
Gerson Moreno-Riaño

Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs

757.352.4320 gmorenoriano@regent.edu
Jeremy Painter, D.Litt.

Assistant Professor, English

Director of University Writing Center

757.352.4144 jerepai@regent.edu
William Reddinger, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4470 wreddinger@regent.edu
Miles Smith, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

  mjsmith@regent.edu
Peggy Southerland, B.A.

Chair of Communication and Arts Department

Professional-in-Residence

Animation

757.352.4698 peggys@regent.edu
Robert S. Stewart Jr., Ph.D.

Professor

Department Chair, Science, Technology and Math

757.352.4405 rstewart@regent.edu
Charles Turnitsa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Engineering & Computer Science

757.352.4691 cturnitsa@regent.edu
Kenneth Wantz, Ph.D.

Professor, Science, Technology, and Mathematics

757.352.4755 kwantz@regent.edu
Stephen A. Webb, M.S.

Principal Lecturer, Government, History and Criminal Justice

757.352.4609 swebb@regent.edu
David Xu, MFA

Associate Professor, Communication and Arts

757.352.4235 dxu@regent.edu