Imagery of Regent people and campus


Faculty Governance

Governance at Regent University must be informed by scriptural principles, led by the Holy Spirit, and consistent with the University's governing documents. To accomplish its mission, Regent University is committed to a concept of shared governance, throughout all organizational levels, based on decision-making that includes a:

  • Philosophy of open and honest communication grounded in humility, integrity, authenticity, mutual trust, collaboration, and unity;
  • Process of consultation that involves and respects all constituencies and is responsive to their specific needs; and
  • Practice that upholds duly-constituted authority, promotes responsible expertise-based participation, purposefully seeks and weighs the recommendations of affected stakeholders, and, when practicable, explains the reasons for decisions.


Faculty Senate

The primary instrument for faculty input into shared governance at Regent University is the Faculty Senate. The role of the Faculty Senate is outlined below:

General Role of the Faculty Senate: In the consultative shared governance model at Regent University, the faculty of each school or library has the primary faculty voice with regard to academic matters originating from and pertaining solely to that school or library. With regard to University-wide academic matters that do not pertain solely to a particular school or library, the institutional voice of the faculty is principally expressed through the Faculty Senate, comprised of freely elected representatives from the faculty of each school and library. The Senate consults with and makes recommendations to the executive officer or body designated by the President (e.g., Provost, Cabinet). The Senate and its individual Senators are free to discuss and express their views through appropriate channels on any matter affecting the University.

Faculty Senate members for 2014-2015:

Andrew Quicke, President
Melody Diehl Detar, Secretary
Bill Magee, Law Library
Cyrus Williams, School of Psychology
Deanna Nisbet, School of Education
Jeffry Morrison, School of Government
Ionut Popescu, School of Government
Kim Alexander, School of Divinity
Mark Gatlin, CAS
Thomas Folsom, Law School
Timothy Redmer, School of Business

Professor Andrew Quicke ( is the Chair of the Faculty Senate.


Curriculum and Instructional Review Committee

The Curriculum and Instructional Review Committee (CIRC) is a standing university committee under the direct supervision of the vice president for academic affairs (or his/her designee). CIRC is composed of a full-time faculty member from each of the Regent schools and the University library, along with the university registrar, the SACS liaison, and the associate vice president for academic affairs. You can view this PowerPoint on the CIRC review process.


Academic Council

Academic Council exercises overall supervision of the academic affairs of the university. It recommends to the president the adoption and/or the deletion of the academic policies that govern the university, as well as academic programs. The executive vice president serves as chairman.